Multiple targets on one USB port

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
teli
New here

Multiple targets on one USB port

Post by teli »

Quick question

Can you attach 2 disk on the same USB port ?
There are external chassis with only on USB ports but multiple disk behind that port.

for example:
http://www.stardom.com.tw/sohotank%20st3620.htm

/Terje
teli
New here

Post by teli »

I'm new to linux embeded and haven't found something like a /etc/modules.conf, is there a similair file in the QNAP ?
I currently own a TS-109 running 1.1.2, but I have also tested 1.1.1.

The cip in the box is a JM20336 which supports what they call "Support Dual LUN of USB Mass Storage Class", do you support that.

Please respond
teli
New here

Post by teli »

14 days and not a word, hurray !

Makes you wonder.
fitbrit
New here

Post by fitbrit »

A pity you're not getting any replies, as I want to know the same thing. SOme enclosures house mulitple disks with one USB connection. I'm assuming they're running some soft/firmware internally to appear as one big disk (there are a number of 1 TB drives that are really 2 x 500GB disks in one unit). Can these be recognised as their full 1 TB capacity with the QNAP TS 201?

I hope so, 'cos otherwise I think I'm going to make an UnRAID sever and sell my QNAP next year. I'm using up more and more space daily and it won't be long before my 6 TB is full and I'll be looking to expand further.
QNAPRei
Been there, done that

Post by QNAPRei »

The support of multiple USB drives connection to a single USB port is in our testing plan. We'll announce the test results when they're released. Stay tuned.
Online Support Form: http://www.qnap.com/onlinesupport.asp
Support email: q_support@qnap.com.tw
MSN: q.support@hotmail.com
fitbrit
New here

Re: Multiple targets on one USB port

Post by fitbrit »

This was two months ago. Come on, QNAP, all the sales have come and gone and we're still waiting to know the answers.
balder
New here